Northern Township

Contact Us

445 Town Hall Rd NW
Bemidji, MN  56601

218-751-4989

Hours

Can vary – call office

Typically Mon, Tue, Thur: 7:30am – 3:00pm

About Township

Population – 4,535 (2020)

Became 5 board members on
5/9/78
Land Use Ordinance Initiated-
May 1, 1992
Greater Bemidji Area Joint Planning Ordinance Initiated –
March 15, 2007

Supervisors

Chairman – Jess Frenzel
(1-17 to 1-25)
314 Hans Ct NW
(C) 218-556-1728
jess.frenzel@northerntownship.com

Vice Chair – Chris Lahn (3-20 to 1-25)
5888 St. Moritz Ct NE
(C) 612-296-9072
chris.lahn@northerntownship.com

Michael Kelly (3-06 to 1-23)
320 S. Movil Lake Rd NW
(H) 218-751-2067 (C) 218-766-1656
mkelly@paulbunyan.net

Curt Blumhagen (10-13 to 1-23)
711 Maple Ridge Ct NW
(H) 444-9861 (C) 766-9861
curt.blumhagen@northerntownship.com

Gary Barnard (appointed to 1-23)
7248 Irvine Ave NW
(C) 760-5097
gcbarnard@hotmail.com

Treasurer – Doug Kranich
173 Quiet Majestic Lane NW
(H) 444-6377
doug.kranich@northerntownship.com

Clerk – Mary Israelson
7519 Hunter Dr. NE
Township Office: 751-4989
(C) 760-6277
nthntwp@paulbunyan.net

Deputy Clerk – Dianne Dockendorf

Animal Control Officer
Keith Christianson
(C) 760-6651

Planning Administrator
GBAJPB
(Office) 759-3579
www.jpbgba.org

Road Supervisor – Tim Vigen
(c) 766-4441

Greater Bemidji Area
Joint Powers Board
Representatives

 

Jess Frenzel
314 Hans Ct NW
(C) 218-556-1728
jess.frenzel@northerntownship.com

 

Chris Lahn
5888 St. Moritz Ct NE
(C) 612-296-9072
chris.lahn@northerntownship.com

 

Greater Bemidji Area Joint
Powers Planning Commission
Representatives

 

Clark Chambers (12/2024)
7022 Dickinson Dr. NW
(h) 760-2936
cchamb@paulbunyan.net

 

Allen Steffen (12/2019)
S. Movil Lake Road NW
(h) 751-2822
birchwoodflooring@qwestoffice.net

 

Michael Granlund
6109 Lavinia Rd NE
(701) 370-1981
mikegranlund@hotmail.com

 

Noxious Weed Officer
Jess Frenzel
(C) 556-1728

 

Cemetary Sexton
Ken Glidden
(H) 444-7344